Georgia baby killed in gunfire of teenagers

Two Brunswick, Georgia teenagers were charged with murder Friday following the fatal shooting of thirteen-month-old Antonio Santiago.

The child’s mother, Sherry West, told police that she was walking her son in his stroller in when two teenagers approached her.  West said, “A boy approached me and told me he wanted my money, and I told him I didn’t have any money. And he said, ‘Give me your money or I’m going to kill you and I’m going to shoot your baby and kill your baby,’ and I said, ‘I don’t have any money,’ and ‘Don’t kill my baby.'”

As one of the boys tried to take West’s bag from her, she tried to tell them again that she had no money.  The boy then proceeded to shoot West in the leg and then moved to the stroller to shoot the thirteen-month-old in the face.  While no one has reported seeing the incident many called reporting the gunshots afterwards.

17-year-old suspect De’Marquise Elkins will be tried as an adult in the criminal proceedings.  The 14-year-old suspect’s identity is being held due to his age.

Brunswick police offered a $10,000 reward for information on the case.  They were still following leads on Friday afternoon.  Police Chief Tobe Green said, “We are turning every stone to get a motive.”  The investigation is still being kept quiet.

http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2013/03/25/stroller-shooting-teen-innocent-says-lawyer/2019147/

http://www.cnn.com/2013/03/22/us/georgia-baby-killed

Leave a Reply

